Pure Joy – Mixed Media Cupcake


 Pure Joy – Mixed Media Cupcake
Created by Sophia Vida

I finally had a little time to finish my second mixed media cupcake. You can find the first here: Find Your Bliss – Mixed Media Cupcake

I made this one pretty much the same as the last using an 8″ square canvas with layers of paint and paper. Bright Easter colors were my inspiration for the background on this canvas.

First I started by coating the canvas with gesso. Next I adhered pieces of text from an old book and a paper doily to my canvas. I painted the background with watered down bright colored acrylic paints in yellow, pink, blue, purple and orange.

After everything dried, I used a recycled cylinder and the end of a dowel dipped in white acrylic paint to make a few designs on my canvas. I also stamped a few flowers using Black Staz On Ink.

For the border, I cut strips of paper from my book and used a scallop punch for the inside edge. The pages of the book weren’t long enough, so I had to overlap alternating corners to make it work. Once I adhered these to the canvas, I added buttons with baker’s twine to the top and bottom edges. Next I drew few doodles with my Sakura Micron #03 pen and colored them in with Sakura Gelly Roll Pens.

I sketched the cupcake on to the center of the canvas and painted it with acrylic paints. I adhered my tag and then added highlights and shading to entire canvas.  I liked how the clear glitter paint added that little bit of bling to my last cupcake, so I decided to use it again on frosting and that was it!

Hope you enjoy!

For this Project you will need:

– Rubber stamps of your choice
– Matte Mod Podge
– Micron Pen #03
– Assorted Sakura Gelly Roll Pens
– Bright Acrylic Paints: Yellow, Blue, Purple, Orange
– Clear Glitter Paint
– Black Staz-On Ink
– 6 Yellow Buttons
– Baker’s Twine
– Small Tag
– Paper Doily
– 8″ Square canvas panel
– Gesso
– Aleene’s Tacky Glue
– 1″ Paint Brush
– Clean water and paper towels

 

Leave a Reply

