Valentine’s Day Cards Mixed Media


dsc_0026-valentinecardmixedmedia-all4cards

“Valentine’s Day Cards – Mixed Media”
Created by Sophia Vida

 

I was inspired by a pin I saw on Pinterest so I started this project with a watercolor wash on a 9″ x 12″ piece of 140 lb, cold press watercolor paper. Once that was dry, I added more color by distressing different areas with Distress Inks in Fired Brick, Mustard Seed, Picked Raspberry and Spiced Marmalade. Next, I used a stencil with Walnut Distress Ink. I also stamped several Valentine’s images with Memento Rich Cocoa Dye Ink.

dsc_0001-valentinecardmixedmedia-background

I let everything dry well and traced a few different sized hearts onto my paper with a Dark Brown Sharpie Marker. I wanted the hearts to be semi-transparent so I painted them with FolkArt Metallic White Pearl Paint mixed with FolkArt Floating Medium. I used this same technique with the leaves in my journal that I blogged about here: Mixed Media Art Journal – Take 4. Then I added highlights and trimmed off the top edge from the spiral pad and cut the remaining paper into 4 equal parts.

 

For the next step, I created tags on the computer that I punched and distressed. I had bought these small 1.75″ red satin hearts on clearance last year and was thrilled to put them to good use.

dsc_0027-valentinecardmixedmedia-heart

I adhered my watercolor backgrounds to 4 cards measuring 4.5″ x 6.25″. The last step was to glue the tags and hearts to the fronts of the cards and  Voila! I had 4 unique Valentine’s Day Cards!

Enjoy!

Supplies Use:

  • Strathmore 9″ x 12″ Watercolor Paper, 140 lb, Cold Press
  • Assorted Watercolor Paints: Fuchsia, Yellow, Red, Orange
  • Distress Inks: Fired Brick, Mustard Seed, Picked Raspberry, Spiced Marmalade, Walnut
  • Memento Rich Cocoa Dye Ink
  • FolkArt Metallic White Pearl Paint
  • FolkArt Floating Medium
  • Dark Brown Sharpie Fine Point Marker
  • Assorted Valentine’s Day Rubber Stamps
  • Stencil of your choice
  • Tag Punch
  • 4 Red Satin Hearts – 1.75″
  • 4 Pre-made Cards with envelopes: 4.5″ x 6.25″
  • Dry Adhesive
  • Watercolor brush
Leave a Reply

