Mixed Media Poppies


dsc_0001-mixedmediapoppies-main

I read an article in the Spring 2016 Zen Doodle Workshop by Angela Leclair. The colors in her art really grabbed my attention. I couldn’t stop looking at the poppies and thought I’d give it a try.

zen-doodle-workshop-spring-2016

Since this isn’t my tutorial, I don’t want to give away a lot of the details but I started by searching the internet for photos of poppies. I found 2 that I really liked and combined them into 1 sketch. I transferred the image to my watercolor paper, painted, collaged and added detailing.

I really love the bright vivid colors.  If you can get your hands on a copy of the Zen Doodle Workshop, Spring 2016 publication, I highly recommend it.  It’s filled with fun and inspiring zen art. I know Cloth Paper Scissors is still selling this issue on their website: North Light Shop/Cloth Paper Scissors.

Sadly, Cloth Paper Scissors confirmed with me they are not continuing this publication but I really wish they would. It became one of my favorites last year!

Hope this inspires you!

Leave a Reply

