Merry Christmas Watercolor


dsc_0001-merrychristmaswatercolor-main

Merry Christmas Watercolor
Created by Sophia Vida

I know this is a bit late but I wanted to share this fun painting with you. I was inspired by a painting I found on Pinterest with a Christmas Tree painted with hearts. So I thought I’d give it a whirl. First I lightly penciled a large triangle in the center of my 9″ x 12″, 140lb watercolor paper. Next, I started to draw the outline of hearts using my PrismaColor Pencils. I also added a star using a stencil and outlined that as well along with the trunk. I then colored everything with my Inktense Watercolor Pencils and activated the colors with a Niji Water Brush.

While this was drying, I searched the internet for a font that I thought would fit with the whimsical painting. When I found what I liked, I practiced a few times on a piece of scrap paper until I was happy with the result. Then, I drew the letters onto my paper with a black Micron #03 Pen.

For a little dimension, I filled the star in with Glossy Accents and let it dry. To give the painting a little sparkle I used glitter paint around the star and snow at the bottom. The snowflakes were made using a small punch and glued to the painting with  Aleene’s Tacky Glue. Last I accented the everything with Stardust Stickles and Voila! I had a beautiful painting which I framed and hung for Christmas! This would also make a great gift too!

Supplies Used:

  • 9″ x 12″ Water Color Paper, 140lb Cold Press
  • Colored Pencils
  • Inktense WaterColor Pencils
  • Niji Water Brush
  • Glossy Accents
  • Glitter Paint
  • Star Stencil
  • Stardust Stickles
  • Snowflake Punch
  • Aleene’s Tacky Glue
Leave a Reply

