Very Merry Christmas Tree


dsc_0002-verymerrychristmastreemain

Very Merry Christmas Tree
Created by Sophia Vida

Hope you’re all enjoying your holidays so far. I’ve been away for a little with the holiday hustle and bustle. But I have been busy in the studio so I’m doing my best to catch up. I found a wooden tree at Joann’s and thought it would make a fun Christmas project. When I started I wasn’t sure where I would end because I like to plan as I go.

I started by giving the tree a coat of gesso.  I knew I wanted it to have a whimsical feel to it so I painted the tree in a lime green acrylic paint. Next I painted the trunk a nice medium brown. I wanted good coverage so I gave it 3 coats of paint, letting them dry in between coats.

For the edges, I mixed baby blue and metallic pearl white acrylic paints and dabbed it with a sea sponge. I added pink ornaments with a small paint brush and added highlights to the trunk as well. After much thought, I painted the base with the metallic white pearl paint. Once that dried I gave the top of the base a thick coat of Matte Mod Podge and sprinkled it with white glitter. Last I added multi-color flower rhinestones I found at the craft store and Voila! I had a fun and whimsical Christmas Tree!

Hope you enjoy!

Supplies used in this Project:

  • 17″ Unfinished Wooden Christmas Tree
  • Gesso
  • Acrylic Paint: Lime Green, Medium Brown, Light Brown, Baby Blue, Metallic Pearl White, Pink
  • Sea Sponge
  • Multicolored Flower Rhinestones
  • Matte Mod Podge
  • White Glitter
  • 1/2″ Flat Paint Brush
  • Clean water and paper towels

 

Leave a Reply

