Spooky Halloween Mixed Media Village


dsc_0007-halloweenvillage-main    “Spooky Halloween” Mixed Media Village
Created by Sophia Vida

I know this post is a little late, but I decided to create this Village the night before Halloween and there just wasn’t enough time to get it done. But at least I’m ready for next year!

To start, I  gave the canvas a coat of gesso. Then I painted it using acrylic paints in dark blue, medium and light purple. To add a few highlights, I used metallic pearl white acrylic paint. It’s pretty sheer and that’s exactly what I wanted.

I made the moon in two layers. First I sprayed white tissue paper and a white lace paper doily with yellow and orange Angel Glimmer Mist and let them dry. Next I cut out a circle from each for the moon and adhered them on the canvas using Matte Mod Podge with the lace doily on top.

While that was drying, I began cutting my creepy houses, windows, roofs and doors from the cardstock. The papers in this village all came from the same stack, DCWV The Spooky Time. Once everything was cut, I adhered the pieces to the canvas with the Matte Mod Podge. I sketched scribbly lines around the edges of all the parts of the houses to make them stand out a little more with the Faber Castell Pitt Pen. I added accents to the canvas with a purple glitter Gelly Roll Pen and Inka Gold Violet Paint.  This was the first time I used the Inka Gold Paint. It’s a paste paint that is packaged in a small tub and dries fairly quickly. I love the consistency and how it looks on the canvas!

Last I added a few embellishments like rhinestones and stickers from various Halloween packs I had on hand and Voila! I had a unique Spooky Village!

Enjoy creating your own village!!

Supplies used in this Project:

  • 9″ x 12″ canvas panel
  • DCWV The Spooky Time Stack
  • Gesso
  • Matte Mod Podge
  • Faber Castell Pitt Pen or Sharpie Fine Point Pen
  • Acrylic Paints: Dark Blue, Medium and Dark Purple, Metallic Pearl White
  • Viva Inka Gold: Violet Paint
  • 1/2″ Flat Paint Brush
  • Assorted Halloween Rhinestones
  • Assorted Halloween Stickers and Embellishments
  • White Tissue Paper
  • White Paper Doily
  • Angel Glimmer Mist: Yellow, Orange
  • Sakura Gelly Roll Pen:  Purple Glitter
  • Aleene’s Tacky Glue
  • Clean water and paper towels

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

