Patchwork Pumpkin


dsc_0001-patchworkpumpkin

Patchwork Pumpkin
Created by Sophia Vida

I’ve been away for a while and really miss everyone but I’m happy to be back!! My break wasn’t really a break. We had to replace our flooring and as a result, had to pack up the entire house which at the time seemed like a monumental task.

While waiting for everything to get done, I read the book “Clear the Clutter” by Karen Kingston. Most Feng Shui books I’ve read in the past were complicated and hard to understand. But Karen made this book an easy read, filled with great advice for clearing the clutter and getting the energy moving again. I highly recommend it!!

So when the time came to finally unpack, I couldn’t wait to get rid of the clutter. It was amazing how much “Stuff” you can collect over the years. I got rid of bags and bags of “Stuff” that I didn’t even remember I had. And it felt great!! My creative energy is zipping right along again. So now back to art and this fun project:

I purchased an inexpensive paper mache pumpkin from the craft store along with 3 different printed fabrics. To start, I coated the pumpkin with gesso and cut the fabrics into 1 inch squares. Using Matte Mode Podge, I adhered the pieces of fabric to the pumpkin making sure to overlap the squares. Once it was completely covered, I let it dry and finished it off with brown ribbon that I glued to the stem with Aleene’s Tacky glue. Last I added a few fall sprigs and leaves to the top and Voila! I had a cute patchwork pumpkin to display for Fall!

Hope you enjoy!!!

Supplies Used:

  • 6.5″ – 7″ Paper Mache Pumpkin
  • 3 Different Print Fabrics cut into 1 inch squares
  • Matte Mod Podge
  • Aleene’s Tacky Glue
  • Fall Sprigs
  • Fabric Scissors
  • Small Foam Brush

 

2 thoughts on “Patchwork Pumpkin

Leave a Reply

