Find Your Bliss – Mixed Media Cupcake


DSC_0003-CupcakeMixMedia-Main

 Cupcake Mixed Media
Created by Sophia Vida

I hope the New Year finds you in good spirits and health! I took a much needed break over the holidays and enjoyed spending time with my family. But I still found time to play in my watercolor journal and create a few projects that I’ll be sharing with you.

I made this cupcake on an 8″ canvas using layers of paint and paper. I was inspired by beautiful sunsets and used these colors in my palette. I started by giving my canvas a coat of gesso. Next I adhered pieces of sheet music, text from an old book and a paper doily to my canvas.

I then painted the background with watered down yellow, bright pink and orange acrylic paints. After this layer dried I used a recycled cylinder and the end of a paint brush  dipped in white acrylic paint to make a few designs on my canvas. I also stamped a few flowers using Black Staz On Ink.

For the border, I cut strips of paper from my book and used a scallop punch. The pages of the book weren’t long enough, so I had to overlap alternating corners to make it work. Once I adhered these to the canvas, I added buttons with baker’s twine to the corners. Next I drew few doodles with my Sakura Micron #03 pen and colored them in with Sakura Gelly Roll Pens.

I sketched the cupcake on to the center of the canvas and painted it with acrylic paints. I adhered my tag and then added highlights and shading to entire canvas.  The cupcake was still looking a bit dull, so I painted the frosting with clear glitter paint and that was it!

Hope you enjoy!

For this Project you will need:

– Rubber stamps of your choice
– Matte Mod Podge
– Micron Pen #03
– Assorted Sakura Gelly Roll Pens
– Acrylic Paints: Yellow, Bright Pink, Orange
– Clear Glitter Paint
– Black Staz-On Ink
– 4 Bright Pink Buttons
– Baker’s Twine
– Small Tag
– Paper Doily
– 8″ Square canvas panel
– Gesso
– Aleene’s Tacky Glue
– 1″ Paint Brush
– Clean water and paper towels

DSC_0003-CupcakeMixMedia-Frosting   DSC_0017-Doily   DSC_0003-CupcakeMixMedia-Border.Button

8 thoughts on “Find Your Bliss – Mixed Media Cupcake

  1. Love your cupcake art today! There is a symmetry yet so happy with lots of color that is freeing. (However, it makes me want to eat it!)
    hugs

Leave a Reply

