Follow your own path Watercolor


           StandOutIntheCrowdWatercolorDSC_0004-Main

“Follow your own path Watercolor”
Created by Sophia Vida

I was inspired by Gina Lee Kim, a very talented watercolor artist. Gina creates some really stunning paintings with bright fun colors that just seem to jump out at you. She offers classes and has been featured in many magazines. You can find out more about her on her blog at ginaleekim.blogspot.com.

To create this piece I used a 10″ x 15″ 140 lb watercolor paper. I taped down the edges and gave the paper a coat of water. While it was still wet I started adding pink, blue and yellow paints.

When the paper is wet like this I love how the colors mingle and create new colors. If you remember your basic color mixing rules, pink and blue make purple and yellow and blue make green. That’s how I ended up with this beautiful wash. To create the spotted background, I sprinkled coarse sea salt on the wet paper and then let it dry. After the paper was dry, I gently rubbed off the salt and was left with the spots you see here:

StandOutIntheCrowdWatercolorDSC_0004-Salt

You’ll notice the birds have unique designs on them as well. To do this I created a second wet wash on a another sheet of watercolor paper. Once the paint mostly dry, I used a couple of different stencils and gently wiped off  some of the paint with a wet wipe.

StandOutIntheCrowdWatercolorDSC_0004-Stencil     StandOutIntheCrowdWatercolorDSC_0004-Stencil2

Next I traced the birds from a small wood cut out that I found at the craft store. I outlined the birds with a purple Gelly Roll pen, cut them out and adhered them to my first watercolor background.

I wanted the one bird to stand out more than the others, so I gave him a coat of clear glitter paint and let it dry. I used a swirl stamp with white embossing powder as an accent.

StandOutIntheCrowdWatercolorDSC_0004-MainBird.Embossing

Last I hand wrote my sentiment in the bottom right corner of the paper with a Sakura Micron Pen #03. I accented the letters with a dark purple Gellly Roll pen. I outlined the sentiment with a Marvy White Gel Pen and used white watercolor paint to create a light wash around it. I added a little shading with a dark blue watercolor pencil and Voila! I had a new one of a kind painting to hang in my home!

StandOutIntheCrowdWatercolorDSC_0004-Sentiment     StandOutIntheCrowdWatercolorDSC_0004-WhiteWash

Hope you enjoy!!

 

Supplies Used:

  • 140 lb Watercolor Paper, 10″ x 15″
  • Watercolor Paints
  • Wood Bird Cut Out
  • Assorted Gelly Roll Pens
  • Sakura Micron Pen #03
  • Wet Wipes
  • Coarse Sea Salt
  • Marvy White Gel Pen
  • Pigment Ink
  • White Embossing Powder
  • Heat Gun
  • Clear Glitter Paint
  • Aleene’s Tacky Glue
  • Scissors
  • Large 1″ mop brush for watercolor
  • Clean water and paper towels
4 thoughts on “Follow your own path Watercolor

Leave a Reply

