Summer Fun Watercolor


Watercolor Watermelon Painting Main

“Summer Fun Watercolor”
Created by Sophia Vida

I can’t believe summer is here and June 21st is the first “Official” day. Not to mention it’s Father’s Day too. So Happy Father’s Day to all the wonderful dads!!

Eating a cold slice of watermelon on a hot summer day brings back happy childhood memories for me. Since watercolor is my favorite medium to use, I thought a slice of watermelon was a perfect way to start summer.

One of the things I love most about watercolor painting is that you can finish a piece fairly quick. There is very little drying time needed between the steps and this gives you the satisfaction of finishing a piece in one sitting. Plus this is a great way to squeeze a little art into an otherwise busy and sometimes hectic life.

I started this piece by sketching it out in pencil and then coloring it in with Kimberly Watercolor pencils. I activated and blended the colors with a Niji waterbrush. After it was dry, I outlined everything with a Micron #05 pen and added Stardust Stickles for a little bling. And Voila! I had a new painting in my journal!

What are you going to do to kick off your summer?

 

For this Project you will need:

– Sakura Micron Pen #05
sakura pens

– Kimberly Watercolor Pencils
Kimberly thCA2FHQS2

– Strathmore 300 Series, Watercolor Cold Press 140 lb Paper, 9″ x 12″
– Niji Waterbrush – Small and Medium
NijiWaterbrush

– Stardust Stickles
– Paper towels

 

 

4 thoughts on “Summer Fun Watercolor

Leave a Reply

