Every Cloud has a Silver Lining Mixed Media


 DSC_0004EveryCloudHasASilverLiningMain

 Every Cloud has a Silver Lining Mixed Media
(created by Sophia Vida)

I made this piece pretty much the same way as my last mixed media post from June 4, 2015. My only problem was I really loved the colorful background and didn’t want to cover it up by painting over the negative space. So I decided to do it this way instead.

I used the Liquitex Gloss Super Heavy Gel to create texture. While it was still wet on the clouds, I sprinkled them silver glitter. I added yarn, buttons and a rhinestone on the door for even more texture. Last, I outlined the images and highlighted the roof with Liquid Pearls.

When it was finished, I couldn’t stop laughing. It reminded me of something straight out of a Dr. Seuss book. I would have to say this is one of the most whimsical pieces I’ve ever created and it was just silly fun.

Give it whirl and see what your imagination can create!

Supplies used:

– 12″ x 16″ Canvas Panel
– Assorted Acrylic Paints
– Oil Pastels
– Crayons
– Liquitex Gloss Super – Heavy Gel
– Ranger Liquid Pearls – Onyx and Light Blue
– Round #5 Brush
– Palette Knife
– Aleene’s Tacky Glue
– Spray Bottle of Water
– Plastic Coated Paper Plate (for mixing colors)
– Paper Towels
– Container with clean water to rinse brushes

DSC_0004EveryCloudHasASilverLiningDoor     DSC_0010EveryCloudHasASilverLiningSentiment

DSC_0013EveryCloudHasASilverLiningTree     DSC_0016EveryCloudHasASilverLiningButtons

4 thoughts on “Every Cloud has a Silver Lining Mixed Media

Leave a Reply

