Mixed Media


 MixedMediaBirdofParadiseDSC_0089-Main

 Mixed Media
(created by Sophia Vida)

I read an article in the Somerset Apprentice Spring 2014 issue by Tracy Verdugo. She is a very talented artist with a unique style. You can find out more about her on her website at TracyVerdugo.com. She also has a blog at ArtofTracyVerdugo.blogspot.com.

I wanted to try a similar piece like the one she showcased in the article. I changed it a little and painted 1 bird instead of 3. It was so messy but at the same time it was loads of fun with layer upon layer of images created with white crayons, oil pastels and acrylic paint. Once I had my bird drawn on the panel, I painted the negative space with acrylic paint. The last step was to outline the bird and the rest of the image with dark blue acrylic paint.

Looking at the finished piece, it was dull because I over mixed some of the colors. It was still fun and colorful to look at but not as vivid as I had imagined it would be. I stared at it for a while and repainted the negative space around the bird and branch using pink and blue acrylic paints mixed with Liquitex Gloss Super – Heavy Gel. This gave it that extra punch it needed and I love the purple hues that came from mixing the two colors. Last I accented the bird and leaves with Stardust Stickles and now I had a new art piece that really pops with bright, fun colors.

Check out Tracy’s book titled “paint mojo – A Mixed Media Workshop” for more inspiration, tips, techniques and tutorials. This is a hardcover spiral bound book I purchased for myself and absolutely love.

Enjoy!

Supplies used:

– 12″ x 16″ Canvas Panel
– Assorted Acrylic Paints
– Oil Pastels
– Crayons
– Liquitex Gloss Super – Heavy Gel
– Stickles
– Round #5 Brush
– Palette Knife
– Spray Bottle of Water
– Plastic Coated Paper Plate (for mixing colors)
– Paper Towels
– Container with clean water to rinse brushes

 

MixedMediaBirdofParadiseDSC_0089-leaf     MixedMediaBirdofParadiseDSC_0089-ColorMixing

MixedMediaBirdofParadiseDSC_0089-Body

4 thoughts on “Mixed Media

Leave a Reply

