Love Altered Book


LoveAlteredBookDSC_0005Main

“Love Altered Book”
Created by Sophia Vida

I bought the “Somerset in Love” magazine from Stampington. I was thrilled when it arrived. It was packed full of romantic altered books created by various artists. It was simply beautiful.

Somset in Love Magazine

Inspired by their work I decided I would give it a try so I set out to my local craft store and purchased an inexpensive board book. To prep the book I sanded each page to remove the glossy finish so my paints and finishes would stick better. Next I applied 2 coats of gesso to each page. Once this was dry I was ready to start my new adventure.

I painted these two pages in white paint and distressed them with Tea Dye ink. I added faux stitching to the edges with a gold metallic sharpie pen. Next I added heart-shaped stamps to each page using acrylic paint.

While the paint was drying I printed 2 vintage images from my computer on heavy cardstock and cut them out. I glued one of the images onto a square of pink fabric. The other was glued onto paper heart doilies which I had on hand from Wilton Cake decorating. I painted the edges and center of the white heart doily with pink and red acrylic paint so it would stand out from the background more.

I found an extra clay heart I had made from a previous Valentine card and added that to one of my pages along with other ephemera that I had in my supply stash. Last but not least, I added a little bling with Stardust Stickles and Voila! I had two fun pages in my new Love Book.

Hope you enjoy creating your own altered book!

Supplies used for the project:

– Inexpensive Board Book
– Sandpaper
– Gesso
– Acrylic Paint: White, Red, Pink, Purple
– Assorted Heart Stamps
– Tea Dye Distress Ink
– Sharpie Gold Metallic Marker
– Paint Brush
– Assorted Valentine/Love Ephemera
– 2 Vintage Valentine Prints
– Aleenes Tacky Glue

LoveAlteredAbookDSC_0007ILoveYou          LoveAlteredBookDSC_0006ValentineforYou

LoveAlteredBookDSC_0008Hearts          LoveAlteredBookDSC_0011Flower

2 thoughts on “Love Altered Book

Leave a Reply

