Whimsical Village Mixed Media


Whimsical  Village DSC_0010-Main    “Whimsical Village” Mixed Media
Created by Sophia Vida

I became fascinated with whimsical villages I found online over the summer and had to give it a try. I found a paper stack by DCWV called Violet Leaf. This stack was full of papers with beautiful turquoise and violet colors.

I started this project by coating a 9″ x 12″ canvas with gesso. While the gesso was drying I designed my houses with papers from the stack. All the lines are slanted and curvy making them a little whimsical.

The next step was to paint the entire canvas and sides with a coat of coordinating acrylic paint. Once the paint had dried I glued my houses onto the canvas. I made a sun using a paper doily which I colored with yellow and orange watered down acrylic paint. I drew in rays with a gold Sharpie pen. I made windows out of vellum and colored them with dry Gelatos. I then adhered them to the houses using a small amount of Aleene’s Tacky Glue.

Next I added a few stencils to the canvas using a mixture of white and background paint with fiber paste. Once dry, I outlined everything with a Faber Castell Pitt Pen and added shading, embellishments and of course Stickles to the flowers. The edges of the canvas were distressed with dry Gelatos. I added a few white streaks across the canvas with white pearl paint and a plastic card. Last I sealed it with a coat of Matte Mode Podge and Voila! I had a unique mixed media work of art!

Enjoy creating your own whimsical village!!

Supplies used in this Project:
– 9″ x 12″ canvas panel
– DCWV Violet Leaf Stack
12244489
– Vellum
– Paper doily
– Gesso
– Golden Fiber Paste
Golden Fiber Paste
– Stencil of your choice
– Palette Knife
– Matte Mod Podge
– Faber Castell Pitt Pen or Sharpie Fine Point Pen
– Acrylic Paints: Aqua (FolkArt), White, Pearl White, Yellow and Orange
– 1/2″ Flat Paint Brush
– Assorted Gelatos
– Assorted Stickles
– Assorted Sakura Gelly Roll Pens
– Aleene’s Tacky Glue
– Small sponge applicator
– Clean water and paper towels

Whimsical Village DSC_0010-Sun          Whimsical Village DSC_0010-Stencil          Whimsical Village DSC_0010-Flowers

Whimsical Village DSC_0010-Small House         Whimsical Village DSC_0010- House2         Whimsical Village DSC_0010- House3

 

 

10 thoughts on “Whimsical Village Mixed Media

  1. It’ll be cool to live in one of these houses. Love the fun colors and design. It does breathe Summer and all things happy. Have a great weekend and all the best to you and your family.

Leave a Reply

