The Sea Zentangle


TheSeaZentangle_DSC_0154E

“The Sea Zentangle”
Created by Sophia Vida

For this Project you will need:

– Sakura Micron Pens in varying sizes
sakura pens

– Kimberly Watercolor Pencils
Kimberly thCA2FHQS2

– Strathmore 400 Series, Watercolor Cold Press 140 lb Paper, 6″ x 12″
– Niji Waterbrush – Medium

NijiWaterbrush

– Paper towels

I started traveling with a small art bag containing watercolor paper, brush, pencils and pens because I never know when the mood hits me. A few weeks ago I was enjoying a sunny breezy afternoon at the beach. I love staring at the deep blues and greens of the ocean and I couldn’t resist creating a piece with those colors.

Since I wasn’t sure what I was going to draw I started by coloring the background with the Kimberly Watercolor Pencils. I used the Niji Waterbrush to activate the colors.

The Niji Waterbrushes are available in varying sizes and are great for traveling because they have a built-in water container. All you have to do is give it a little squeeze and the water runs down the bristols of the brush. To clean, just wipe the brush on a dry paper towel and that’s it!

I put the wet painted paper directly in the sun and it quickly dried. After looking at the colors I decided to draw the outline of a starfish in pencil. I then filled it in with lots and lots of tiny circles using the No. 5 Micron pen. The bottom two legs of the starfish are out of proportion to the rest which makes me laugh. It almost looks like he’s going to walk off the page. Nevertheless, I loved how it turned out with the tiny circles.

TheSeaZentangleDSC_0161E

Next I decided to draw a shell on the right side of the paper, again with the No. 5 Micron pen. Originally I was going to Zentangle each segment on the shell but then I thought this would be too busy. So I decided to Zentangle every other one and leave some white space in between to give the eyes a rest.

TheSeaZentangle DSC_0158E

I now had a starfish on the left, a shell on the right and a large empty space in the middle. I wasn’t coming up with any ideas on my own. So after I got back home I decided to look at some of my stamps for inspiration. I found a jelly fish which just looked like fun and fit the space perfectly. I first drew the jellyfish in pencil and then went over it using the No. 5 & 8 Micron Pens.

TheSeaZentangle DSC_0162E

As much as I love to use Stickles and Jelly Roll Pens for extra highlights I thought I would keep this piece clean and simple. With that said, I added my sentiment across the top and Voila! I had a fun piece of art filled with fun memories at the beach!!!

TheSeaZentangle DSC_0165E

TheSeaZentangle DSC_0166E

Thanks for looking and have lots of fun creating your own Zentangle designs!

For more Crafting Tips and Techniques visit our main website at Just4Crafters.com

9 thoughts on “The Sea Zentangle

  1. Your sea zentangles are lovely Sophia especially on your pretty painted background.
    Very clever to make the starfish all out of circles!
    We saw the most wonderful balloon octopus at our farmer’s market yesterday…fun to then see your cool octopus too!
    makes me want to go to the beach to twinkle my toes in the sand ♥
    oxo

    • Thank you! I’m so glad you like it. The stores already have their fall displays up. I’m not sure I’m ready for that yet. I’m still hanging on to my summer 🙂 All the best ~Sophia

    • Thanks Christine!! You can find basic Zentangle patterns on the internet. All you need to get started is a couple of pens and paper. That’s it! It’s fun and relaxing 🙂 Enjoy!! ~Sophia

Leave a Reply

