Owl Zentangle


DSC_0006edit

“Owl Zentangle”
Created by Sophia Vida

For this Project you will need:

– Sakura Micron Pens in varying sizes
sakura pens
– Sakura Jelly Roll Pens in assorted colors
Sakura Jelly Roll thCAPTC15Q
– Derwent Inktense Pencils
untitled
– Strathmore 400 Series, Watercolor Cold Press 140 lb Paper, 6″ x 12″
– Stickles: Assorted Colors
– Round Watercolor Brush
– Clean water and paper towels

What in the world is Zentangle? Zentangle is a form of art where you use repetitive lines and patterns to create your image. You can Zentangle just about anything anywhere. The great part about Zentangle is anyone can do it, even kids! You only need minimal supplies such as a few pens and paper. Most of all, it’s a great stress reliever.

I purchased quite a few books on Zentangle. My first and favorite book is Zenspirations Letters & Patterning by Joanne Fink. It gives you a good start but you can also visit http://www.sakuraofamerica.com/zenspirations and get some of the same information that’s in her book. To be honest, there is so much information on the internet that you really don’t need to buy any books at all. I’m a bit old fashioned and still like to have an actual book with pages in my hand especially when I travel.

I was inspired by a Zentangle I saw on Pinterest.  I love owls and thought this would be fun. I started with a pencil sketch and went over it with the Micron Pens in varying sizes. Keep in mind that you can Zentangle anything. All you need to start with is a basic square, circle or a free form shape. Then divide it into sections and fill each section with a different design and pattern. You can also Zentangle stamped images which are great for cards.

Coloring your Zentangle is optional. They are just as beautiful in black and white as they are in color. However, since I love vibrant colors I couldn’t resist coloring my design with Inktense Pencils. I then used water to activate the colors. After it was dry, I embellished it with my Sakura Jelly Roll Pens and Stickles. And Voila! You have a one of a kind work of art!

Thanks for looking and have lots of fun creating your own Zentangle designs!

DSC_0011edit     DSC_0009edit     DSC_0013edit

DSC_0023edit     DSC_0021edit     DSC_0019edit     DSC_0026edit     DSC_0027edit

For those of you who are interested, this is the book by Joanne Fink:

Scan_Pic0030edit

For more Crafting Tips and Techniques visit our main website at Just4Crafters.com

16 thoughts on “Owl Zentangle

    • Thanks Patty!!! It really does look wonderful in black and white but I just couldn’t stop myself. I really love the Inktense pencils 🙂 Have a wonderful day!!! ~Sophia

  1. This is really wonderful, Sophia! I love playing with zentangles. They are creeping their way into more and more of my art. ( I even have that book.) You have really made an adorable work of art with them. Bravo!!!

    • Thanks so much Beth!!! This one really made me laugh especially when I started adding the bright colors. Thanks to you I’m now hooked on the Inktense pencils 🙂 Have a wonderful week!!! ~Sophia

  2. Another lovely piece of art! I used to doodle A LOT 🙂 in high school and now I’m thinking I might have been doing a bit of Zentangling back then and didn’t know it! 🙂 But yours is beyond doodling – it’s beautiful art! I love your colors and your cute owls! I love owls too! They make me smile. I bought 3 small pictures of brightly colored owls for my craft room when I was in Florida visiting my sister a few months back. Now I just need to hang them. 🙂 Thanks for the inspiration! ~Vanessa

    • Thanks Vanessa! We used to have a lot of the burrowing owls here but with all the new construction that came in over the years you don’t see them too much anymore. I miss them. They were so cute 🙂 ~Sophia

  3. How generous of you to provide this picture…… I am at the tracing stage and this is a great picture and size to do that. From a 73 year old grandma who still plays!

  4. Your owl zentangle is very cool. Love all the different patterns and all the bright colours. Great piece to be very proud of.

Leave a Reply

