Stay on the Sunny Side of Life! Inktense Art Journaling


DSC_0003edit

The  Sunny Side Intense Journaling
Created by Sophia Vida

For this Project you will need:

– Sakura Micron Pens in varying sizes
sakura pens
– Sakura Jelly Roll Pens in assorted colors
Sakura Jelly Roll thCAPTC15Q
– Derwent Inktense Pencils
untitled
– Strathmore Mixed Media Visual Journal 9″ x 12″
Strathmore Mixed Media
– Stickles: Assorted Colors
– Round Watercolor Brush
– Clean water and paper towels

The journaling adventure continues…… This is my latest and first page using the Derwent Inktense pencils. They work pretty much the same as watercolor pencils which is great!

I started this page by making a pencil sketch of an enormous flower, followed by a rather large sun and so on. After my pencil sketch was done, I went over the entire page with the Sakura Micron Pens in varying sizes (primarily 05 and 08).

Since this was my first time using the Inktense pencils I wasn’t sure what to expect. I remembered what my art instructor once told me, “If the color is too light you can always go back and add more. But if you start out too dark, it’s much harder to remove the color.” With this in mind I started coloring in my page. The colors looked pretty much the same as the Kimberly watercolor pencils until I mixed them with water. Wow! They quickly become very bold and bright. I absolutely loved it!!! Since I love fun colors this definitely gave me the vibrant colors I was looking for.

After the water coloring was dry, I used Sakura Jelly Roll Pens to highlight the page. Last I added a little bling with different color Stickles and that was it!

I would highly recommend trying out the Derwent Inktense Pencils in your journaling and art work. They are loads of fun!!!

Thanks for looking and have lots of fun creating your own journal pages!

DSC_0005edit     DSC_0006edit      DSC_0007edit DSC_0021edit      DSC_0021edit2      DSC_0021edit3

For more Crafting Tips and Techniques visit our main website at Just4Crafters.com

18 thoughts on “Stay on the Sunny Side of Life! Inktense Art Journaling

    • Hi Alison! Thanks so much. I wasn’t sure about the light color when I first penciled it in. But I was pleasantly surprised when they turned very bright! All the best! ~Sophia

    • Thank you Patty! I would definitely give the Inktense pencils a try. They were so much fun! Can’t wait to start my next page with them!!! 🙂 Have a wonderful evening! ~Sophia

  1. Hi Sophia! It’s been awhile but I love seeing your beautiful artwork! Truly vibrant and playful! Loving how you creatively placed the words in the sun! 🙂

    • Hi Christine! So good to hear from you!!The Inktense Pencils are so much brighter and more bold than the regular watercolor pencils. I absolutely love them. Have a wonderful weekend!!! ~Sophia

    • Thank you!!! This painting puts a smile on my face too 🙂 It was such a pleasant surprise when these somewhat dull pencils came to life so vibrantly on the paper with a little water. I really enjoy working with them. All the best ~Sophia

Leave a Reply

