Live in the Moment Mixed Media Art


DSC_0018edit

Live in the Moment Mixed Media Art

Created by Sophia Vida

The inspiration for this piece came from a colored pencil sketch I did a few years ago. I started by covering my 11″ x 14″ canvas with torn pieces of cardstock that I glued on with Matte Mod Podge. I wanted a little extra texture so I cut a circle piece of paper lace in half and glued that to the top right and bottom left corners with Mod Podge. After that dried I painted over the canvas with different colors of acrylic paint in blue, pink and yellow. I didn’t put a thick coat on because I wanted some of the papers and textures to show through a bit. I also painted the side edges of the canvas.

Next I used dark purple paint with a Martha Stewart stencil I bought at Home Depot  and stenciled a few vines/flowers on the canvas.  I then sketched my tulips on the canvas and began painting those in.

I took a step back and felt it was a little too bright for me, so I got my favorite Tea Dye Distress Ink and distressed the edges of the canvas and the painting itself. I printed the sentiment on my computer using WordArt, Times New Roman Font, Size 36. I then cut it out and distressed that as well. Next I glued the sentiment to the canvas using the Mod Podge.

I sprayed the canvas with Pearl Glimmer Mist and let it dry. Last I added several butterflies which are made from acetate; they came from a K&Company, Susan Winget SW Floral Die-Cut package I found at Joann Fabric and that was it!

Voila! You have a one of a kind Mixed Media work of art!!!

Thanks for looking and have lots of fun making your own Mixed Media Art!

Additional Pictures:

DSC_0013edit          DSC_0018edittulipsonly          DSC_0018editstencil

DSC_0014butterflyonly          DSC_0014lace          DSC_0018editbanner

For more Crafting Tips and Techniques visit our main website at Just4Crafters.com

7 thoughts on “Live in the Moment Mixed Media Art

  1. Hi Sophia, thanks for visiting my blog and leaving a comment. I love this canvas, especially all the texture created by the lace paper and the overall shimmer. Beautiful work!

    • Thanks so much Angela!!! This was such a fun piece to make. Glad you were able to see the texture in the lace paper. There are so many more textures that the camera just doesn’t pick up. I’ll have to work on that a little more 😉 All the best! ~Sophia

  2. Oh my goodness! This is beautiful! And it has two of my most favorite things – tulips and butterflies! Love it! Your tulips are gorgeous and I love the texture with the paper lace on the corners! What a neat technique!

    • Thanks Vanessa! The paper lace was a little tricky gluing down because I had to be very careful not to rip the delicate edges. But I love the texture it gave the piece too. Have a wonderful weekend!!! ~Sophia

Leave a Reply

