Clean & Simple Tulip Card


DSC_0006edit

Clean and Simple Tulip Card
(created by Sophia Vida)

I made this for the Clean and Simple Card challenge over at Addicted to Stamps & More but unfortunately I missed the deadline. In any case, this was a really quick and easy card to do with minimal supplies.

For this card you will need:

– Premade 4.5″ x 6.25″ Olive Green Card & Envelope
– Cardstock: Red and White
– Hero Arts Watercolor Tulip Stamp H3834
TulipStampH3834Hero%20H3834
– Fiskars Home Sweet Home Stamp Set 136840-1001
FiskarsHomeSweetHome41sYWHIpS+L__SL500_SS500_
– Stardust Stickles
– Colored Markers: Red, Grass Green
– Color Box Black Pigment Ink
– Ranger Clear Embossing Powder
– Glue Stick
– Scissors
– Heat Gun
  

  1. Cut a 3-1/2″ x 5-1/2″ rectangle from the red cardstock and glue to the center of the premade olive green card.
  2. Cut a 3-1/8″ x 5-3/8″ rectangle from the white cardstock.
  3. Color the stem on the tulip stamp with the green marker. Color the flower part of the stamp with the red marker. Blow moist breath over the stamp to activate the markers and stamp your image on the center of the white card stock.
    DSC_0006editTulip
  4. Ink your “Best Wishes” stamp with the pigment ink. Stamp the sentiment on the bottom left corner of the white cardstock. Sprinkle with embossing powder. Tap off any excess and use the heat gun to set.
    DSC_0006editbestwishes
  5. Glue the white cardstock to the center of the red cardstock. Highlight the stem and flower with the Stardust Stickles. Let dry.  Voila! You have a beautiful handmade card.
    DSC_0006editstickles

Thanks for looking and have lots of fun making this Clean and Simple Tulip Card!

For more Crafting Tips and Techniques visit our main website at Just4Crafters.com

11 thoughts on “Clean & Simple Tulip Card

  1. This is so pretty Sophia! My favorite flower is the tulip so this definitely put a smile on my face! I love your colors and that tulip stamp! The inks match your paper perfectly! Coloring the image with markers is so nice. Can it be any kind of marker? I have some Crayola markers but not the special stamping ones. I would love to be able to color in stamps with different colors but I’m not sure if I will damage my rubber stamps. Tombow markers are on my wish list for next Christmas since they are waterbased but I wonder if I can experiment with regular markers in the meantime. Thanks for your help! ~V

    • You’re the best!!! Thank you so much for all of your wonderful comments. I’ve tried other markers and they worked just fine. They all cleaned up easily with soap & water or stamp cleaner. I didn’t have the right colors in my Tombows so I used my dual brush water-based markers. I also experimented with my new Spectrum Noir alcohol markers but they stained the stamp a little and I didn’t get the result I wanted. I think the Crayola markers in general are water-based and should work fine with the stamps. Have a fantastic evening!!! ~Sophia

      • Oh this is great info! Thanks for the tips! I think I will experiment with my Crayola markers first to see how it goes! If I like the technique enough, I can then purchase specialty markers such as Tombow. I love the idea of coloring in stamps before stamping. Copics are pricey and I know some use them after they stamp their image in black staz-on (which I also don’t have right now). Staz-on is on my list, along with watercolor pencils I’ve seen you use before. I like how you added water with a paintbrush for a beautiful watercolor effect. Your blog is so inspiring! Thanks for sharing the different techniques out there and the products used! I’ve learned a lot! ~Vanessa

      • You’re very welcome Vanessa, glad to help 🙂 I used the Staz-on with the watercolor pencils and it worked fine. But when I tried it with the alcohol Spectrum Noir markers it got a little runny if I went over the stamped lines. Since I couldn’t find a book on the Spectrum Noir alcohol markers I ordered a basic “Copic Coloring Guide” which came in today. Both brands of markers have letters and numbers on the ends that stand for different things. So I figured the basic coloring book will help me get the gist of it because so far, its not working out the way I expected. So I’m still going at it. Once I’ve figure this out I’ll be sure to write a post. All the best!!! ~Sophia

Leave a Reply

