Watercolor Garden Journal


     DSC_0103edit     DSC_0105edit 

Watercolor Garden Journaling
Created by Sophia Vida

For this Project you will need:

– Sakura Micron Pens in varying sizes
sakura pens
– Sakura Jelly Roll Pens in assorted colors
Sakura Jelly Roll thCAPTC15Q
– Kimberly Watercolor Pencils (24 count)
Kimberly thCA2FHQS2
– Strathmore Mixed Media Visual Journal 9″ x 12″
Strathmore Mixed Media

– Stickles: Stardust, Ice Blue
– Round Watercolor Brush
– Clean water and paper towels

The journaling adventure continues…… These are my latest pages. With spring just around the corner I couldn’t resist drawing blooming flowers.

 I basically used the same supplies as my last journal pages but this time I decided to make a pencil sketch for the tree. I wanted to make sure I had placement of the branches good so I could get all my words on the page. Everything else went on the page with the pen.

To make these pages you may want to start by making a light pencil sketch first. Or just jump right in and see what happens. Draw the heart borders on the top and bottom with the Sakura Micron Black Pen (Size 01). Next add the side stitched borders. Then draw your flowers, sun and butterflies and anything else you like. Do the same for the second page by starting with the borders. Then do a pencil sketch of the tree and check your placement for the words. Trace over the tree and words with the Black Pen (Size 01). Last add the flowers and buzzing bees.

Once your drawings are finished, use the Kimberly Watercolor Pencils to color the pages. Blend the colors using the round brush dipped in water. Use a paper towel to blot the excess water. Rinse your brush when changing colors to keep them from getting muddy.

After your water coloring is dry, use the Sakura Jelly Roll Pens to highlight the pages. Last add some bling with the Stardust and Ice Blue Stickles and that is it!

Journaling can be anything you want it to be. You can share it or keep it private. Whatever it is, enjoy!!!

Thanks for looking and have lots of fun creating your own journal pages!

DSC_0103edit2     DSC_0105edit2     DSC_0109edit     DSC_0120edit

DSC_0106edit     DSC_0108edit

For more Crafting Tips and Techniques visit our main website at Just4Crafters.com

15 thoughts on “Watercolor Garden Journal

  1. Sophia, your drawings are so lovely! I don’t have the courage to try any of them yet! LOL!!! I also love my jelly roll pens but I don’t use them often enough…. you have inspired me! Lovely journal entries! They Scream SPRING!!! Just what we need here in Nova Scotia! Thanks for sharing your lovely art work with us all! 😀

  2. So beautiful! I’m always inspired by your work and your knowledge of art supplies! I have learned so much! I love the watercolor pencils technique with a brush and water. I have never done that and would love to get some watercolor pencils! I’ll have to start explaining to hubby where I get some of my Christmas wish lists from! 😉 LOL Your drawings are lovely! I wish I could draw like that but you motivate me to try! 🙂 I like how you take your pictures too – I’m currently struggling with a new camera and my images always turn out too dark. I was wondering if you use a scanner to get such nice images because the lighting looks fantastic! ~Vanessa

    • Thanks Vanessa!!! I’m sure hubby will be delighted with the extra items on your growing wish list 😉 I’ve tried several other different types of watercolor mediums including pans, tubes and crayons. My favorite for the journal pages are the pencils because you can get into really tight places easily and it’s basically mess free. It’s great for traveling too. No I don’t use the scanner for the images. I always had a problem with the flash on my old camera and finally upgraded to the Nikon 3100 which solved the problem. I love this camera! You can also try a photo editing software to lighten dark photos. For now I’m still using the one that came with the camera and it is very limited. But Helen Boyd does some amazing things with her photo software. This is a link to one of her blogs where she talks about the software she uses. http://helensjournal.wordpress.com/2011/12/01/come-over-to-the-dark-side/ Hope this helps. Have a wonderful weekend!!! ~Sophia

      • Thanks so much! The watercolor pencil looks great in your journal pages and would be helpful in coloring in some of my new stamps. For Christmas, I got some Michael’s Recollection stamps called “Don’t Bug Me” which features a ladybug, butterfly, etc. and could use some coloring in. I need to get some Staz-on ink so that chalk, colored pencil, or even a marker doesn’t make the black ink smear. I really like the look of the watercolor pencil so I think I’m going to get the Kimberly ones you used! Thanks for the info. on your camera too! It could be that my camera is just not the best for taking indoor photos. I’ve done research and found the only nice feature is the zoom but lacks in quality in the finished image and shutter speed. I should’ve researched the camera more before buying it :). I’m a follower of Helen’s but didn’t know about the post on her software so I will definitely check out the link! Thanks for your help! ~Vanessa

      • You’re very welcome Vanessa. Also Beth Parker does some beautiful and whimsical watercolor paintings. To get really bold colors she uses the Derwent Inktense Watersoluable Pencils. This is a link to one of her blog posts where she used the pencils: http://bethparkerart.wordpress.com/2012/06/08/bookmark-6-mine-watercolor-inktense-and-sharpie/ I bought the set a few months ago but haven’t had the time to really use them. So that will be next on my list. I’ll let you know how it turns out. Have a wonderful weekend!!! ~Sophia

Leave a Reply

