Watercolor Winter Journaling


DSC_0003edit 

Watercolor Winter Journaling
Created by Sophia Vida

For this Project you will need:

– Sakura Micron Pens in varying sizes

– Sakura Jelly Roll Pens in assorted colors
 
– Kimberly Watercolor Pencils (24 count)
 
– Strathmore Mixed Media Visual Journal 9″ x 12″ 

– Stickles: Stardust, Ice Blue
– Round Watercolor Brush
– Clean water and paper towels

I wanted to share with you my continuing Art Journal adventure. If you remember on my first project I pretty much copied the design from a very talented artist Roc Nicholas (http://www.whatsuproc.blogspot.com/). This winter design however was inspired by a Christmas decoration I saw while shopping.

I thought the little house was so cute and I should journal it. I was so excited to get started that I jumped right in. Needless to say, there are a few blunders on these pages. It probably would have been a good idea to make a light pencil sketch and then go over that with the micron pens. But with all the excitement I just kept going on my merry way and laughing at each mishap with the thought “Oops, I’ll have to fix that one later somehow.”

In the end, I loved how the pages turned out and I think I did a pretty good job hiding all the “Oops” along the way.

To make these pages you may want to start by making a light pencil sketch first. Or just jump right in and see where it takes you. Draw the frame and candy mint border with the Sakura Micron Black Pen (Size 005). Next add the house, sun, bunnies, snowman and anything else you like.

Once your drawings are finished, use the Kimberly Watercolor Pencils (24 count) to color the pages. Blend the colors using the round brush dipped in water. Use a paper towel to blot the excess water. Remember to rinse your brush when changing colors to keep them from getting muddy.

After your water coloring is dry, use the Sakura Jelly Roll Pens to highlight the pages. Last add highlights with the Stardust and Ice Blue Stickles and that is it!

Journaling can be anything you want it to be. You can share it or keep it private. Whatever it is, enjoy!!!

Thanks for looking and have lots of fun creating your own journal pages!

DSC_0015edit     DSC_0014edit     DSC_0003editBunniesOnly

DSC_0007edit     DSC_0009edit     DSC_0003edittreeonly     DSC_0012edit

For more Crafting Tips and Techniques visit our main website at Just4Crafters.com

10 thoughts on “Watercolor Winter Journaling

    • Thank you for your wonderful comments. Making these two pages was so much fun. I just started another journal to commemorate the fun things we do on our family trips. Everyone loves how the pages come out and it makes a great keepsake. Enjoy!!! Wishing you all the best in 2013!!! ~Sophia

  1. You’ve been so busy!!! Love this – you have a wonderful style and I love your watercoloring and doodling! Your pages are so pleasing to look at and they put a smile on my face! Thanks for sharing another beautiful piece of artwork! ~Vanessa

Leave a Reply

