Watercolor Journaling


 

Watercolor Journaling
Created by Sophia Vida

For this Project you will need:

– Sakura Micron Pens in varying sizes

– Sakura Jelly Roll Pens in assorted colors
 
– Kimberly Watercolor Pencils (24 count)
 
– Strathmore Mixed Media Visual Journal 9″ x 12″ 

– Round Watercolor Brush
– Clean water and paper towels

What is journaling? I’m very new to Journaling so I’ve been reading articles about it. I found the Somerset Journaling Magazine which is a quarterly publication that is packed full of journaling ideas, tips and techniques from various artists.

Some artists journal their inner most thoughts while others create themes for their journals. There are even artists who find the most unique and inventive ways to make handmade journals from re-used materials. The level of creativity is simply amazing.

Bottom line, journaling is anything you want it to be. It’s your place to do as you wish. You can keep it private or show off your journal pages. You can experiment with new mediums, techniques and color combinations. There is no right or wrong, only what makes you happy. Not to mention, it’s also light weight with minimum supplies making it perfect for travel.

It amazes me that after all of these years of crafting and painting how intimidating a blank page can be. Since I really don’t know what I am doing yet, I decided to follow the design of an artist named Roc Nicholas who had her work featured in the Autumn 2012 Somerset Journaling Magazine. In the article Roc gave detailed instructions on how to create your own coffee cup journal which was so unique. To find out more about Roc Nicholas, visit her blog at http://www.whatsuproc.blogspot.com/

What caught my eye more than anything was Roc’s use of colors. I love lots of color and just couldn’t stop looking at her pages. I would have to say watercolor paints are my favorite medium and so I decided to use them for these pages.

I started the first page by basically copying Roc’s design with Sakura Micron Black Pens in varying sizes. Next I used the Kimberly Watercolor Pencils (24 count) to color the page. I blended the colors using a round brush dipped in water. I rinsed and blotted the brush on a paper towel when I changed colors. This allowed the colors to blend nicely without looking muddy. Once it dried, I used the Sakura Jelly Roll Pens to highlight the page and that was it!

By the time I started the second page I built up a little courage and changed the sentiment and design a little. I followed all the same steps as the first page and before I knew it, I had another fun and colorful page that I absolutely loved!

There are so many things you can journal. For example, you can start a journal with a collection of your favorite quotes. Or you can fill a journal with fun things you did on weekends and family trips. You can even have a journal to commemorate holidays and celebrations with family and friends. As you can see, you can journal anything that strikes your fancy.

So what are you waiting for? Buy a journal or make your own journal. The possibilities are endless! The only requirement is to relax and have fun!!!

Thanks for looking and have lots of fun creating your own journal pages!

                   

                   

For more Crafting Tips and Techniques visit our main website at Just4Crafters.com

12 thoughts on “Watercolor Journaling

  1. Oh my goodness Sophia! I’m blown away by the colors and your drawings! These pages are stunning! I could see this as illustrations in a book – they are so lovely! I love your post and how you describe different techniques and ideas for journaling. I love the idea of quotes mixed in with scenes with lots and lots of color! Your pages make me happy and I love how you did the sun, the sign post, and the hearts. Those cupcakes look delicious too! 🙂 I also love the watercolor on both pages – it’s a nice backdrop to the images. Looking forward to more pages! This is a wonderful project!! ~ Vanessa

    • Thank you so much Vanessa for the lovely comments!!! You put a smile on my face 🙂 Although I love how the pages turned out I can’t take credit for the design. That would go to the original artist Roc Nicholas who is so talented. Funny you should mention it, but I have written a few picture books but got stuck on the picture designs. Your words of encouragement are greatly appreciated!!! ~Sophia

  2. thank you so much for the compliment about my work and re-creating my pages featured in the somerset art journaling magazine. i’m so happy you love journaling, too. it’s a wonderful art form! keep up the good work.

  3. Beautiful colours and great drawings… I love the whimsical feel you have to your pages and the black and white stripe is so zetti style, very cool

    • Thanks Debbie!! I love lots and lots of colors and this was so much fun. At first I was going to sketch in pencil and go over it with the micron pen. I then decided to get a little wild and go with the pen from the start. But I like how it turned out with the imperfections and all! 🙂 ~Sophia

  4. Well done on yourfirst attempts at Art Journalling. I’m wondering if I should start something up like that again. The journalling word intimidates me, lol. Love your soft pastel colours and shading. Starting off following a design is a great way to launch yourself into somethng new like this. Thumbs up for the confidence boost it gave you.

    • Thanks for your lovely comments Theresa!! I would say definitely start journaling. It’s so much fun and it’s relaxing. No one has to see your journal if you don’t want them to. It’s all yours to do whatever you please. Plus it’s a great place to try out new art techniques. Don’t worry, I stared at the blank page for a while before I found the courage to pick up the pen. Once I started, I didn’t want to stop. So give it whirl 🙂 Hope you’re having a wonderful Thanksgiving weekend!!! All the best!!! ~Sophia

  5. Love it. Your creativity shines so beautifully. You have a pure heart like a child. Your hopes and dreams brings us back to the times when we were kids with unlimited imagination. When we believe that happiness is forever and all things and people are good. perhaps it is not too late to hope once more. Happy New Year.

    • Thank you for your lovely comments. But I can’t take sole credit for the journal pages because I was inpsired by another artist Roc NIcholas. I’m still pretty new to journaling so I copied her design and gave it a little of my own flair. I’m definitely still a kid at heart. I will be posting 2 new pages soon which are all my imagination. So you will have to come back to check them out. 🙂 Happy New Year to you too!!! ~Sophia

Leave a Reply

